Tuesday, September 29, 2020

The Inheritance Games: Review

The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Rating: 5/5 stars

Review: I was hooked from the first chapter of this book! Avery needs to survive High School but that changes when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves his fortune to Avery but she doesn't know who he is. In order to get her inheritance, she must stay at the house where all games, puzzles, and riddles were played and not by herself but with the Hawthorne family including 4 boys. Avery needs to play the game with the family in order to survive.

When I read the summary of this one, I knew I had to get this book in my hands and read it because it sounded that good. And guess what? It didn't disappoint. The author brought everything she promised into the book. I loved Jennifer's writing and the story plotline. It's very unique and something I have never read before. I read 50% of the book in one day so you know that it's good! This mystery book didn't have a disappointing mystery behind it and kept me on my feet to know all the secrets in the Hawthorne house also how Avery might have known Tobias.

The characters I enjoyed a lot in this book. Avery is a strong and brave character who tries to survive in Hawthorne House when everyone pretty much wants to kill her. I enjoyed her development throughout the book and didn't give up on the mystery. She also has an older half-sister who she tries to protect and falls in love with. The romance in this book was a love triangle trope. Usually, I don't enjoy love triangles because I get stuck on who to ship but for this book, I enjoyed it even though I was shipping Avery with different boys. I loved the Hawthorne boys especially Grayson. Kind of fell in love with him but let us just say that you are most likely to fall in love with one of them. I hope to see them more in the second book.

This book was really enjoyable with a great plot story, page-turners, characters, and mystery. I can see why this is being turned into a movie or tv show (can't remember which). I will most likely be reading the second book when it comes out. This book is recommended to those who love mystery, thrillers, and fans of One of Us is Lying.


Criteria:
Plot- ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Main Character- ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Other Characters- ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Writing Style- ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Pacing- ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Ending- ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Romance: kissing)
Book Cover- ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

*This book was provided by the publisher to send an honest review in return*

Breathless: Review

Breathless by Jennifer Niven

Rating: 4/5 stars

Review: THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING! With that all in caps you are probably wondering why I gave it 4/5 stars but keep on reading to find out. This is about 18 years old, Claude, whose parents divorced and her mom takes the two of them to a remote island for summer break where she meets a guy named Jeremiah Crew. She tries to make sure she doesn't fall in love so her heart doesn't shatter again and to write her story. I haven't read any of the other Jennifer Niven's books but this book was really emotional and actually made me cry. I loved the writing of this book and the setting. The way the author described the remote island sounded wonderful but also horrible because there wasn't any wifi and there were many mosquitos. This book was something I have never read before and loved it for so many reasons.


I enjoyed the characters in this book, Claude and Miah. We learn about how Claude struggles with her parent's divorce, losing her friends, feeling lost, and her heart. I loved Claude's and Miah's relationship because they understood each other even though they knew they only have a couple of weeks together until their summer vacation ends. But the romance throughout this book just pulled so many emotions out of me that I didn't even know would be possible. Not only was their romance but also friendship. Claude and her long time best friend, Saz, hurt each other's feelings when Claude left with her mom to the island. There wasn't much developing with it but there was a small amount. It was wonderful seeing Miah and Claude both develop throughout the story and letting go of their past.

I did have some problems with it. Some small bits were that I wish there was a huge development with Claude and Saz's relationship. The main problem was the ending. START SPOIL LOOK AWAY* {I don't know why the author ended the character's relationship like that. I think they should have had some connection afterword or at least an epilogue that they meet again. I cried because of the ending being ended like that because they went through so much and they deserved each other.} END OF SPOILER* I cried about the ending but you will never know until you read the book and know why I had a problem with the ending. It was such a good book and I'm for sure buying the final copy. 

Criteria:
Plot- ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Main Character- ⭐⭐⭐⭐★
Other Characters- ⭐⭐⭐⭐★
Writing Style- ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Pacing- ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Ending- ⭐⭐⭐⭐★
Romance: kissing; sex (not super detailed)
Book Cover- ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

*This ebook was sent to me by the publisher to give an honest review in return*

Monday, September 28, 2020

The Inheritance Games: Welcome Post

The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Publisher: Little, Brown Books 
Genre: YA Contemporary, Thriller & Mystery
Age: 14+

 The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Summary:







A Cinderella story with deadly stakes and thrilling twists, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why--or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man's touch--and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes.

Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a con-woman, and he's determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather's last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive. 

Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Author of The Naturals)

About the Author:







Jennifer Lynn Barnes (who mostly goes by Jen) was born in Tulsa, Oklahoma. She has been, in turn, a competitive cheerleader, a volleyball player, a dancer, a debutante, a primate cognition researcher, a teen model, a comic book geek, and a lemur aficionado. She's been writing for as long as she can remember, finished her first full book (which she now refers to as a "practice book" and which none of you will ever see) when she was still in high school, and then wrote Golden the summer after her freshman year in college, when she was nineteen.

Jen graduated high school in 2002, and from Yale University with a degree in cognitive science (the study of the brain and thought) in May of 2006. She'll be spending the 2006-2007 school year abroad, doing autism research at the University of Cambridge in the United Kingdom.